Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Wednesday Is Any Day For All I Care #69

Hellcyon #1
Hit-Monkey (MDCU) #1
iZombie/I, Zombie #1
The Light #1


Damn it! I should have raided my naughty box and dug out some old porn comics for #69! Too late now...



Hellcyon #1 (Dark Horse, 2010, $3.50)
An Amerimanga artist best known for work on Star Wars licensed comics offering a creator owned sci-fi mini-series? Clearly I bought this at a discount solely for negative review, so imagine my surprise to find I liked it. Lucas Marangon wears liberal leanings on this work’s sleeve, as a fascist military drives student protesters on an alien world toward outright insurrection. The cast is introduced in rapid but organic order, their personalities distinct. There’s mech action, intrigue, and enough story to make you want to come back for more. Recommended for fans of Jim Cameron and Macross.




Hit-Monkey (MDCU) #1 (Marvel, 2010, $3.99)
I burned through this book in about five minutes on the can, but it was a free loaner, so I might have been more critical if I’d been out four bucks instead. It’s a fable, sort of crossing Rudyard Kipling with Robert Ludlum, and answers only enough questions to get a basic origin across. Daniel Way’s story is fine while it lasts, and the art by Dalibor Talajic is nice in a Peter Snejbjerg vein.




iZombie/I, Zombie #1 (Vertigo, 2010, $1.00)
The indicia still reads “I, Zombie” (as in “I, the Jury,”) but I think the book change its title to “iZombie” (as in “iCarly”) for some reason. Either satirical stab is dated enough to reflect the material. iZombie trades in the combination of Generation X snark and spins on hoary horror cliché popularized by shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Dead Like Me, both of which having long left the airwaves. My mirror and waistline tell me my generation is aging, and like the Baby Boomers coasting into retirement age, our tired sarcasm increasingly feels like the sickening nostalgia inflicted by our parents in decades past. All the characters in this book are analogous to those in similar series, and once again “twists” on movie monsters function as metaphors for alternative lifestyles. True Blood has managed to find traction on that road by transferring from progressive urban areas to the most bigoted lowlife armpits of the deep south, but iZombie is still rockin’ the ‘burbs like it was 1999. Chris Roberson’s script is amiable enough, but there’s nothing remotely new here. The always ginchy art by Michael Allred is the only real draw, unless you’re a child of the ‘80s aching for The Breakfast Club to star in an updated remake of The Big Chill.




The Light #1 (Image, 2010, $2.99)
A few years back, there was a movie called The Signal which was an anthology about what happens when humanity is exposed to a stimulus that turns just about everyone homicidally insane. This book's protagonist is such a piece of shit asshole, I expect the mini-series will take a similar course. This time though, the stimulus is exposure to sunlight causing almost everyone to spontaneously combust. The story's lead doesn't though, since he has welder's goggles on. That would be fine, except he wears them after having lost his job and hung around his house in work clothes for a full day. Speaking as a blue collar worker, that is total fucking bullshit, especially in the absence of mood altering substances/motionless depression/etc. Further, the art is that crappy sketchbook shit glossed over by watercolors Ben Templesmith deserves to have his ass kicked for popularizing. Capped off with a pretentious afterword from the writer, this book is a total ineffectual turd to be sidestepped.

No comments:

...nurghophiles...

Blog Archive

Counter


Surrender The Pink?
All books, titles, characters, character names, slogans, logos, and related indicia are trademarks and/or copyright of their respective rights holders.